Thursday, December 15, 2011

Pin It


New 7 Wonders of Nature

Recently the new 7 wonders of nature were voted among people all around the world. So it is a good opportunity to get to know a little of each place, that are unique and wonderful. The new seven wonders are the following:

  • Amazon (Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Peru, Suriname, Venezuela) 
The Amazon Rainforest, also known as Amazonia, the Amazon jungle or the Amazon Basin, encompasses seven million square kilometers (1.7 billion acres), though the forest itself occupies some 5.5 million square kilometers (1.4 billion acres), located within nine nations. The Amazon represents over half of the planet's remaining rainforests and comprises the largest and most species-rich tract of tropical rainforest in the world.

  • Halong Bay (Vietnam)Halong Bay is located in Quáng Ninh province, Vietnam. The bay features thousands of limestone karsts and isles in various sizes and shapes. The bay has a 120 kilometre long coastline and is approximately 1,553 square kilometres in size with 1969 islets. Several of the islands are hollow, with enormous caves, other support floating villages of fishermen, who ply the shallow waters for 200 species of fish and 450 different kinds of mollusks. Another specific feature of Halong Bay is the abundance of lakes inside the limestone islands, for example, Dau Be island has six enclosed lakes. All these island lakes occupy drowned dolines within fengcong karst.
  • No comments:

    Post a Comment

    Hi!! If you have been to this place, please leave your comments about it!! Thanks.

    I love comments but delete spam.

    HINT: use the "Name/URL" function to get a free backlink straight to your blog!